Department Highlights

Picture of Brian AndersonAnderson Receives Staff Employee of the Year Award

Brian Anderson, manager of the Swine Research and Education Complex, was presented in February with the College of Agriculture’s Staff Employee of the Year Award in the Teaching/Research/Outreach Professional category. The purpose of the Staff of the Year Award is to recognize significant and exceptional workplace creativity, service and sustained excellence in support of academic, research and outreach or extension activities.

Picture of Christy BratcherBratcher Honored at College Awards Ceremony

Dr. Christy Bratcher, associate professor in meat science, was presented with the College of Agriculture Dean’s Grantsmanship Award in February. At the same awards ceremony, she was also presented with the college’s Project Team Award as a member of the Food Entrepreneur Team. The purpose of the Dean’s Grantsmanship Award is to honor the great effort faculty members make to be successful in obtaining extramural grants and contracts and to inspire faculty to devote greater efforts to enhancing research in the college. The Project Team Award is to recognize the significant accomplishments in one or more of the primary mission areas of the College of Agriculture realized through collaboration of faculty and staff members in the college.

Picture of Ellen RankinsRankins Receives Claude Hardee Memorial Award

Senior Ellen Rankins was presented with the College of Agriculture’s Claude Hardee Memorial Award in February. The award is presented annually to recognize an outstanding senior in the College of Agriculture based on scholarship, leadership and  character.



Picture of Dr. Don Mulvaney

MULVANEY is elected as  Secretary-Elect

Don Mulvaney was voted secretary-elect, announced at the General Faculty Meeting. Mulvaney will move into those positions during the annual change of faculty leadership on July 1, when R. James Goldstein will assume the office of chair of the University Senate and Xing Ping Hu will become secretary of the Senate, succeeding Larry Teeter as chair and Laura Plexico as secretary.